• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

first project - 82 242 GLT

fred.malmberg

I'm just starting my first project project, .. its a 82 242 GLT (Canadian car non turbo but with with B23E). I'm new to working on cars, but my kids are all now finished school so I have more time available, and it's a nice break after a long week at the office.

I bought the 242 in fall 2017, but got side tracked with a few other things including getting a 84 240 GLE as my daily driver. I got my feet wet with a bunch of maintenance on the 240.

The 242 was marginally running when I bought it, it was leaking coolant inside the block and oil was milky. Body not too bad considering it's age, but still a lot of work. The previous owner had modified the hood and front grill to a flat-hood with round headlights of a late 70's.

Finally I'm getting started on the 242. My rough plan

- rebuild the engine
- restore engine bay - spend a bit more time with the idea if all goes well with engine rebuild, not to remove engine a 2'nd time
- rest of body; grind and/or cut out rust, weld in new panels as necessary - paint with rattle-can, goal is to stop rust, but don't invest too much time into bodywork yet
- install engine, and drive the project a few 1000km's to make sure re-build has no major issues
- have some fun with the car and figure out next step, . is it bodywork/aesthetics, or more performance

Hopefully I can get some tips along the way.

So far I have the engine+transmission out, and I've removed the head and all the engine auxiliaries, and have it on a stand. Next I'm going to finish disassembling the block and clean it up, and figure out what needs to get machined.

First question, how do you upload photos, below it says I may not post attachments.