home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications > aftermarket engine management

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2019, 10:57 PM   #26
Broke4speed
Board Member
 
Broke4speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marionville, Ontario, Canada
Default

Cool, thanks. Be sure to save your stock bin first, just in case. Needing that and not having it is always a bad time...been there, done that :(.
__________________
1984 B6304S/AW30-40 w/Poi-Shift.
Broke4speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 11:43 PM   #27
955IsAlive
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: MN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broke4speed View Post
Be sure to save your stock bin first, just in case. Needing that and not having it is always a bad time...been there, done that :(.
I'll have to get a EEPROM reader and pull the chip to do that I think.

I might try this first.... I found this ME4.4 ECU on ebay for $29 with shipping. Could flash I it with the stock S90 bin we have and see if the car fires up? Then I know I have an ECU running a corresponding BIN to the XDF you're working on. I'm not sure where the immobilizer comes in here.

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-5...0&toolid=20008

Last edited by 955IsAlive; 02-04-2019 at 04:54 PM..
955IsAlive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 09:23 AM   #28
Broke4speed
Board Member
 
Broke4speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marionville, Ontario, Canada
Default

Sure, that works.
Testing the rev limit is easy, set them both to something low, like 3000, and see what happens. Make sure the car runs with the 'stock' S90 bin on it first though, just in case the rev limiter isn't right and it NOPs something in the code, lol.

I'm really surprised that there's no 'reading' utility available for these ECUs.

Last edited by Broke4speed; 02-06-2019 at 04:49 PM..
Broke4speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 10:15 AM   #29
240wagonguy
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Weare, NH
Default

This is great I gotta get my 740 wired up with the S90 loom so I can start testing stuff.
__________________
1985 740GLE sedan winter beater Cali car.
240wagonguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 01:59 PM   #30
955IsAlive
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: MN
Default

I uploaded two bin files to github:

Stock S90 bin (as provided by broke4speed)
S90 bin with modified rev limiter and injection constant

Broke4speed, can you add a link to the github repository in your original post?
https://github.com/pulsatemedia/Volv...o-XDF-Motronic

Last edited by 955IsAlive; 02-04-2019 at 02:33 PM..
955IsAlive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 02:53 PM   #31
Broke4speed
Board Member
 
Broke4speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marionville, Ontario, Canada
Default

Done and done.
I'd swap the S90 with modded rev limiter and injection constant out for one that's just the rev limiter testing. The injection constant (if correct) is a main part of the fueling equation, and could cause a very rich or very lean no-start condition. It's better to work with one variable at a time to see if something works, rather than working backwards when troubleshooting. I'm still not quite sure the limiter is correct, and I'm even less sure the injection constant is right, lol.

Thanks for the Github repository, I didn't even think about that!.
Broke4speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 03:17 PM   #32
955IsAlive
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: MN
Default

Thanks. Let me know if you'd like to add you to the repository. Figured its a super simple way to keep notes and files synch'd and available to other to play.
Agree with a single variable, updated github with a single one for RPM Limit only. Will add others as time progresses.
955IsAlive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 04:25 PM   #33
Broke4speed
Board Member
 
Broke4speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marionville, Ontario, Canada
Default

I've been scouring the used car sites for 96+ 960/S90/V90s up here, but have only found M1.8 (pre-96) ones :(. I'd love to be able to test this all out.
Broke4speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 10:06 PM   #34
oiiwilliam
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Montreal
Default

I have a V90 and an extra S90 ecu for it. I'll give that rev limiter a go in the next couple of days!
So, TunerPro, a vag-com cable with the 232 chip, a lab power supply and lots of little jumpers? I hope I'm not missing anything...
oiiwilliam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2019, 09:58 PM   #35
Broke4speed
Board Member
 
Broke4speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marionville, Ontario, Canada
Default

Cool thanks! :D
I've never bench flashed (or in-car flashed for that matter) an M4.4 ecu, so I can't confirm.

I've found another M4.4 960 ecu that matches the XDF! It has some slight differences, but the RPM limiters still 'seem' correct. They're inverted though (soft limit is 6810 and hard limit is 6510), but if it's simply a matter of swapping the map titles, that's a win. I'm going to get it put up on the github site as well as post it here .
Attached Files
File Type: zip 960.zip (69.3 KB, 4 views)
Broke4speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 11:39 PM   #36
oiiwilliam
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Montreal
Default

A little late but I got it all wired up on the bench and it flashed just fine according the tunerpro! If the car starts and doesnt rev past 3500rpm then we're in business.
oiiwilliam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 09:21 AM   #37
Broke4speed
Board Member
 
Broke4speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marionville, Ontario, Canada
Default

Nice! :D
I'm eagerly awaiting any results, even bad ones. Gotta start somewhere! Thanks man.
Broke4speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 05:33 PM   #38
955IsAlive
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: MN
Default

I'm halfway convinced to just flash my 960 ECU and send it.
I the car to commute to work soon though. Haven't had to commute in three years.
955IsAlive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 03:04 PM   #39
rkam
Board Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Default

@955IsAlive
You can read the last 64kB safely with KWP protocol like on M4.3
Connecting like this will also return hardware and software number.
I or someone else might have the complete file already dumped.
rkam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 06:47 PM   #40
oiiwilliam
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Montreal
Default

Just plugged in the newly flashed ecu and I got crank but no start... It nearly hesitated for half a second but the car is fully warmed up so I think its a good indication that the tune does not work in its present state. Put the old ecu back and everything still works so at least it didnt break anything! Were getting closer that's for sure.
oiiwilliam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 07:42 PM   #41
Broke4speed
Board Member
 
Broke4speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marionville, Ontario, Canada
Default

If it's possible, try this file. In this archive are two files, one stock and one with the 'limiters' set to 3500. RKAM generously donated this file to me, and there is no immobilizer function in this bin. Just in case we're fighting that feature and are not aware.

Crap, hold up. We're fighting checksum errors. Give me a second to find the new address.
Attached Files
File Type: zip 0261203655_1037355485_9186179_960_no_immo.zip (135.8 KB, 0 views)

Last edited by Broke4speed; 02-12-2019 at 07:54 PM..
Broke4speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 08:06 PM   #42
oiiwilliam
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Montreal
Default

Alright I'm hoping that I can get it flashed and test it by the end of the week!
oiiwilliam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 08:26 PM   #43
Broke4speed
Board Member
 
Broke4speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marionville, Ontario, Canada
Default

Ok, it's possible that the checksum isn't the issue. Try the new file and see what happens. I have no idea if the checksum is in the same place as the 5-cyl M4.4 files, but hey...that's what trial and error is for, lol.
Thanks for the help!
Broke4speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 09:23 PM   #44
955IsAlive
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: MN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkam View Post
@955IsAlive
You can read the last 64kB safely with KWP protocol like on M4.3
Connecting like this will also return hardware and software number.
This is a little above my knowledge at this point,. Can you give some ideas on guides or keywords to try so I can find out what to do and what I need to dump those 64kb?

Sounds like it might be a useful way to verify the image I have in my ECU by looking at the last 64kb?
955IsAlive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 02:39 AM   #45
rkam
Board Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Default

You can use this program for communication.
http://volvospeed.com/vs_forum/files...ag-19-08-2010/
I based it on something called OmegaDiag, and changed it to work on Volvo.
Select "old" protocol and 27C512 for 64kB on M4.4 on the options page.
"Dump EPROM" on main page after Connect. Sometimes a few tries is needed.
rkam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.