• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

945 Daily Turbo Fun (My first Project)

DenK

945 kind of racecar

Hello fellow Brickers,

My Name is Dennis, i am from Germany and i bought my first Volvo about a year ago.
Please apologyse any misspelling or other strange sentence constructions since my english is far from perfect.

First i want to thank this Forum for all the valuable information. This is a massive help on my yourney with this car. I want to give somthing back and share my build and experiences with you. Since i am no mechanic or experienced car guy, please dont expect a all out crazy build. I want to make good reliable power and keep the car as daily driver.

The title of the thread is not 100% correct. My very first project in terms of gasoline powered toys is this:

34875129fa.jpg

I bought this 1984 Suzuki GSX400 bone stock and wanted to see what i can achieve with my limited space and knowledge. This took me 1,5 winters of wrenching in my cold garage. I was very happy with the result and wanted to step things up.

Looking around on car broker sites somehow i found this brick shaped car.
It ticked all the boxes:

-Easy and reliable tech
-Availability of parts and information
-Wagon
-Turbsky engine with reasonable displacement and room for more power
-RWD
-Dirt Cheap
-High Sleeper potential

So i picked up one in decent shape for no money.
Next step was to buy a set of polaris wheels which raised the value of the car significant.
I just had to buy them because they are ultra rare here and the deal was fair.
Threw in springs and dampers from KAW and the visual part of the build is done for me:

34874970vi.jpg

I chipped the computers, raised the boost on the stock engine and had good fun with it.