• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

Is a 2.3 SVO engine swap possible?

grinsngroans

Howdy, I recently came across a wrecked '86 mustang SVO that has a hot little motor in it. I am relatively new to the Volvo scene (and forums) and just acquired a 1980 245 project car (I'll post pictures soon). I can pick this SVO up for a screaming deal and I am curious if anyone around here has attempted anything like that.
Through some half-hearted googling, I can't seem to find much of anything other thank the ford guys swaping the 16v head onto their motors.

The basic logic is there: they are both rwd, Inline 4 cars that share some of the same dimensions but that's where it stops. I know there is a ton of other details that I am completely glossing over. I may have put this in the wrong thread too, I can correct if someone will point me in the right direction.

Thanks

No easier than putting any other reasonably sized engine in a Volvo. Well, if it's a popular swap, someone probably makes the mounts and other little parts, so maybe harder if you're not doing all the fab work yourself.

I know a guy that swapped a ford 2.3 into a late 70s 245. It was extremely simple.

Does he happen to be on this forum or have pictures or insight on how he did it?

Thanks

He is not. I?ll see if I can dig up some pictures. He hasn?t owned the car for probably 3-5 years.

How good are you with fabricating brackets? Can you read a wiring schematic and make reliable electrical connections? How well can you align a motor and trans to the rear diff?

Engine swaps are ?easy? if you can do those things.

He is not. I?ll see if I can dig up some pictures. He hasn?t owned the car for probably 3-5 years.