• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

Spray Gun + Air Compressor Question

Tabor

volvoholic
I have a 30gal air compressor that puts out 4.6cfm@90psi and 8.6cfm@40psi.

I want to repaint my Porsche with an HVLP Sharpe spray gun. I want to know if I will have enough air compressor capacity with their finex gun. It is rated at 11.4 cfm@29psi. Now, I have never used one before, so maybe someone can help me out. I only turn the pressure up enough to get good atomization right? So I might actually be running at less than 29psi, right? What is a typical pressure?

Also, with 30gal charged up to 145psi and regulated to 29psi, with the compressor *trying* to keep up, do you think I can use this gun + compressor? TIA!

EDIT- Typo! I have a 30gal tank. *fixed*

Last edited:
You will kill your stored compressed air very quickly. It can be done. It just will have to wait for the tank to will up alot. My dad did it this way for years. We just now got a 2 stage 80 gallon compressor.