• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

240 '90 DL Stalls When Driving

mossymemedogg

Hello everybody,

I have been having some issues with my 240 for some time now, The car starts okay but it occasionally stalls out after hitting a significant bump or pothole, it will start back up after it dies but it cranks over a lot before it starts. It idles and drives fine, it only seems to stall after going over a bump.

So far I have replaced in this order; fuel pressure regulator, distributor, plugs, plug wires, main fuel pump+filter, in-tank fuel pump, fuel pump relay.
I am not very experienced mechanically and it is becoming frustrating replacing all this stuff and still having issues with the car.

Any thoughts about what could be the problem?

See if it stalls if you jiggle the key. Otherwise, I'd guess wiring for your ignition trigger is flaky, either at the distributor or the crank position sensor at back of the block (LH2.2 or 2.4, respectively). Other things that like to shake loose over sharp bumps: loose fuse holders. Check the fuses, make sure they're all copper or brass contacts or the glass tube style while you're at it, and make sure they're all nice and tight, not loose/super easy to spin or jiggle around.

Sounds like a connection/wiring problem to me if it's from a good jounce. Check grounds and connectors as well as double check your fuse block for corrosion.

No help, most likely something electrical, thinking CPS. But quick question. Does it happen with a full tank of gas or only when low? I ask because you mentioned you replaced the in-tank pump but did not say anything about the small rubber hose from pump to tube. Could be an issue.