• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

TD04 feed and return questions

studmuffed

Hey all,

I am working on a B230f+t build on my 240. I got the oil feed set up from the gallery port on the front, and as far as I can tell, that feed line needs to go to the top port on the turbo? There are other threaded holes on the sides of the turbo and I'm not sure what they are for.

This is my first time working on turbos of any kind, so I'm sorry if I'm not describing this very well. I think I have the early style Mitsubishi TD04.

Thanks!
Nick

The feed is the top port, the drain is the bottom port, the 2 side ports are for water cooling the turbo. If clocked correctly.

Top of turbo is oil feed, directly below that is the oil drain, on the sides are the coolant feed & drain. (I don't believe it matters which side the coolant goes in/out of, so long as it's in the coolant ports.)

Could I leave the coolant lines off to start it up? I want to make sure the oil feed is working before I proceed.

he means crank w.o. spark. You want the turbo to have oil at first fire or it will mess it up. I prelubed mine then cranked engine with no spark with oil drain unhooked, so I could tell for sure the turbo had oil. You can run without the water line hooked to it but make sure you let it idle for a bit after a hard run or you will over heat the seals and others.

Could I leave the coolant lines off to start it up? I want to make sure the oil feed is working before I proceed.

Before you SPIN the turbo, fill the top oil supply port with your engine oil. It will drain, but you want to ensure the bearings are wet before the turbine starts rotating it.