• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

Ignition For a Carb'd B230

fatcatbestcat

Professional Hack
Hi all.

I haven't bought anything yet, but I wanted to get some opinions or suggestions on what to do ignition-wise with a planned redblock swap. Realistically, the engines I'm looking at are going to be late 80s B230s with skinny rods. I'm not looking for crazy power, and to simplify installation in the planned recipient vehicle, I intend to be running carburetors.

I'm a complete novice when it comes to the OHC engines, so please bear with me.

I'm aware that LH 2.4 engines used some kind of crank sensor running off the flywheel. Would it be advisable to swap a 2.4 flywheel on a 2.2 engine and to use the crank sensor to run some kind of wasted spark setup?

Otherwise, I'm looking at getting a dedicated carb-friendly dizzy from 123ignition or the like. They're a bit pricy but if all I need to do is connect a coil to them, it should make for an easy install.

Also slightly related question; If I were to run a mechanical fuel pump (a la Penta engines), do stock B230Fs still have the eccentric to run the pump, or is there some other idler shaft I need to find?

Probably a bunch of dumb questions, but that's pretty much the norm for me. Any input would be helpful.

For $500 you could do a lot better than 123...for instance a microsquirt box powering a VAG wasted spark tower coil running off the crank trigger. You then have a decent box that can control fueling once you wise up.

For $500 you could do a lot better than 123...for instance a microsquirt box powering a VAG wasted spark tower coil running off the crank trigger. You then have a decent box that can control fueling once you wise up.