• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

240 Firewall split woes; 1982 245 Manual

nuclearj

Hello all, I am having trouble with my clutch cable and the firewall.
As you can see in the pictures the firewall is cracked and needs some welding done. I am thinking that is why I've been having problems with my clutch adjustment not sticking. I just replaced the clutch cable less than two weeks ago. At that first initial install and adjustment it was shifting like a dream! And gradually I could feel it getting tougher and tougher to get into first gear.

So I am guessing that because the split in the firewall was getting bigger and bigger, my initial adjustment is getting more off and therefore making it tough to shift. That is my guess as I am not a mechanic but am pretty handy. What sayest you all? Also, how much work is involved in removing and replacing that firewall part? I saw one posted on ebay for $50.

I am going to get it welded in short order here so that is a given. At least I
will have one less "moving part" to contend with.

Thanks for your insights!

https://photos.app.goo.gl/7ZPN1RLaBcxUZom1A

It's going to be a ton of work to get that firewall panel removed. I personally would repair it in place if you have a welder on hand. It would be less work that way.

Good price but the adjuster is missing. You can reuse your old one if you still have it.

s-l1600.jpg

1377669GemoClutchCable240.jpg

Ah man. I do not (mine has been gone a long time) and I do not suppose that the other ones work on this one? Like would the white plastic adjusters be compatible?

No, because the adjuster for the metal sheath cable actually screws up and down the spiral cable itself.