home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2014, 11:11 PM   #1
theknave
Board Member
 
theknave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Seattle
Default Vehicle speed sensor signal to Jetronic

Hey there.

1990 240 DL, stock b230f, open diff.

I tried to search for something on this, but I couldn't find anything quickly.

What I'm looking for is a circuit diagram or something of that sort so I can send the signal the Jetronic wants from the PMG speed sensor to the Jetronic.

As an alternative, I have the original circuit boards from my original Volvo speedo, if all else fails perhaps I can use those. If so, anyone know what would need to be connected in that case? I'm currently using an aftermarket speedo.

Thanks!
theknave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2014, 11:15 PM   #2
hessam69
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default

www.volvowiringdiagrams.com
hessam69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2014, 11:47 PM   #3
vlvman
Board Member
 
vlvman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Jefferson City, MO
Default

Cleanflametrap may have info also, give me a minute to find a link.
__________________
Robert
http://www.volvowiringdiagrams.com/
82 244DL, 2004 S60R AWD, 2008 S40 GF's
Had: 77 242 DL, 80 242 DL, 82 245 DL, 89 740 GL, 94 850T, 95 850 GL, and a 02 S60 2.4T
vlvman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2014, 11:48 PM   #4
vlvman
Board Member
 
vlvman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Jefferson City, MO
Default

http://cleanflametrap.com/speedo.html
vlvman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2014, 12:51 AM   #5
theknave
Board Member
 
theknave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Seattle
Default

Thanks for that first link - it has lots of good general information, but I'm not sure it has the diagram that's closer to...

...the diagram in that second link.

I've seen that one before. So, if I'm to build my own signal conditioner, it seems like I'm going to need that ITT logic chip, along with those capacitors, resistors and various things?

I think I'll try using the original speedo boards first, see if doing so gets the 3-1-1 code to go away and the idle to drop.


That being said, I have the following questions:

1. Can I just splice off my PMG signal (going to my current aftermarket speedo) to the "G" in the cleanflametrap diagram? and the speed signal ground wire to "(down arrow)" in the cleanflametrap diagram? then go from "A" in that diagram to pin 34 in the LH2.4? Where exactly is "A" on the original speedo?

2. Is step 1. above enough, or do I need to also provide the 12v battery voltage?
theknave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2014, 12:56 AM   #6
theknave
Board Member
 
theknave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Seattle
Default

Actually, I think I see where "A" is here:



I'm thinking it's the farthest left 'pin socket', where that resistor is tied in and jumps back to the pin socket two to the right of it.
theknave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 09:23 PM   #7
cleanflametrap
Board Member
 
cleanflametrap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: near baltimore
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theknave View Post
Actually, I think I see where "A" is here:



I'm thinking it's the farthest left 'pin socket', where that resistor is tied in and jumps back to the pin socket two to the right of it.
Follow the trace to the pin on the 2115. That's what provides your VSS to the ECU. It is an open collector, so that's why I have a pullup resistor stuffed in the socket; so I can observe the signal with the scope. You're on the right track, but be sure to use a good board, because this is the pin that gets ruined when someone plugs the tach wire on the double spade.
__________________
-Art
cleanflametrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 09:46 PM   #8
theknave
Board Member
 
theknave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Seattle
Default

Ok... Do I need a pull up resistor as well?

Is there a way can test proper output with a multimeter?

Also, is it ok to splice a wire from A on that board to the blue/black wire past the connector on the back of the instrument cluster? I noticed in a separate wiring diagram that the speedo seems to connect to the cruise control unit just before the round connector.

Thanks!
theknave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 10:43 PM   #9
theknave
Board Member
 
theknave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Seattle
Default

Ok, so I put ignition switched battery voltage to the "+" on the circuit and went along the various paths, verifying battery voltage until the first resistor with a voltmeter. I was able to read anywhere from 10 to 11.8 v at various spots in the circuit.

The output at pin "A" was 10.53 or so. Is this a good reading? All I did was turn the ignition to "ON", the speed signal was not hooked up to the circuit, yet.
theknave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.